NGS Course Reviews


no_picture   Sophie Bartsch, Fraunhofer IZI


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

28 August 2018


One of the best workshops I ever attended. The organization was just great. The small excercises during the workshop were quite useful to internalize the contents. It was fairly easy to follow even if one has not worked with linux before. I would strongly recommend the workshop!


no_picture   Ioanna Gkogka, Molecular Biology and Genetics Democritus University of Thrace, Greece


Summer School 2018

22 July 2018


Great experience, helpful and approachable instructors, interesting and well organized workshop. This course provided necessary training in NGS that can be used in research projects. Personally, being in the early stages of my undergraduate studies in Molecular Biology and Genetics this workshop really inspired me and expanded my horizons. More specifically, by meeting participants from all around the world who are involved in various fields of science, attending talks from external guest speakers who described their career path and getting to know the instructors of the course who were full of enthusiasm about Bioinformatics, I realized the interconnection between the scientific fields and the different professional options that I could potentially be involved with in the future.


no_picture   Nelida Rodriguez-Osorio, University of the Republic of Uruguay


Summer School 2018

12 July 2018


The course was very well organised, the trainers were able to cater to the different needs of the participants, which had very different backgrounds. The atmosphere was relaxed, and the trainers made us feel comfortable to ask any question. The


no_picture   Kevin Leclerc, New York University


Summer School 2018

10 July 2018


An overall comprehensive and effective overview of the RNA-seq pipeline, from sample-prep considerations to high-level analysis and visualization.


no_picture   Geethanjali Devadoss Gandhi, Sidra Medicine, Qatar


Summer School 2018

8 July 2018


I personally enjoyed the full course and it makes me very confident to do my future NGS analysis though I don't have a bioinformatics background. Everything was well organized and executed in a most efficient way for the participants. Simply, I can say that this course will make you gain confidence and extensive knowledge in the field of NGS bioinformatics. I loved it!!


no_picture   Michael Riemann, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology


Summer School 2018

3 July 2018


This was a great workshop about different aspects of NGS data analysis focussing on putting analysis into practise. Motivated trainers with different expertises guided through the course excercises and in addition invited speakers gave a good idea about what NGS data might be useful for in different fields. Having some basic programming knowledge is certainly an advantage for following the practical parts.


no_picture   Kevin, ViennaLab Diagnostics


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2018

2 May 2018


The workshop was excellent. Speakers were very knowledgeable, ready and able to answer questions at all times. Great working material, with the workbook and the USB stick one can easily reproduce all the tasks.


no_picture   Jan Schulze-Lührmann, Mikrobiologisches Institut, Universitätsklinikum Erlangen


RNA-Seq Workshop 2018

22 March 2018


Intensiver Kurs, extrem an Wissen gewonnen. Kompetente und motivierende "Trainer" und ein toller Gesamtüberblick. Das Kursbuch und besonders der LiveSystem USB-Stick sind super Toll und ermöglichen das weitere Üben, intensivieren des Gelernten.


no_picture   Surasak Sangkhathat, Prince of Songkla University, Thailand


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

13 December 2017


Nice class for a comprehensive beginning of NGS data handling


no_picture   Ralf Rosenstein, University of Tübingen, Infection Biology


Metagenomics Workshop 2017

27 October 2017


Great workshop, intense and lots of invaluable information


no_picture   Vereecke Nick, Ghent University Global Campus


RNA-Seq Workshop 2017

22 October 2017


This 'crash' course is a perfect course for quick guidance through analysis of RNA-seq and NGS analysis in general. Impressive how much new knowledge you can acquire in only 4 days!


no_picture   Stefanie Grunwald, Charité Medical Faculty Berlin


Summer School 2017

11 October 2017


I really enjoyed the course. It fulfilled my needs and definitely improved my understanding in bioinformatic tools and linux. Gaps I had are covered now. Compared to other courses I went to, in my opinion this is one of courses you are able to get started afterwards. All instructors are very kind and helpful :-).


no_picture   Agata Daszkowska-Golec, University of Silesia in Katowice, Poland


Summer School 2017

3 October 2017


It was really great performed training, prepared by experts in the field of bioinformatics. The course gave me opportunity to play with data from RNA and DNA sequencing by myself. Now I can't wait for my own results to analyze it.


no_picture   Santiago Uribe-lewis, BXT Consultants Ltd


Summer School 2017

21 September 2017


Excellent workshop! Very well taken care of!! Great fun!!! Learned a lot!!!! and met very nice people!!!! After five days of smooth scrolling over a meticulous and interactive program one gets a good grasp of the intricancies of NGS data analysis. Many thanks!


no_picture   Atie Kashef, Universitätklinikum Bonn


Summer School 2017

19 September 2017


Thanks to the very well designed and practical summer School for NGS data Analysis in Berlin I could find my feet and build up my mind in the early phase of my PhD project. I was looking for such course for a while and barely could find this opportunity to paractice NGS data analysis for both DNA and RNA approaches , having responseful mentors beside and a proper workstation available. I am very happy that I got this chance with ecSeq people.


no_picture   Magda


Summer School 2017

19 September 2017


This workshop was exactly what I was looking for - using publicly available software, comparing different tools and showing the whole process of data analysis. And I very much appreciate the idea of performing everything on the usb stick so that we can take everything we've done home and practice by ourselves.


no_picture   Ruchir Khandelwal, Rijk Zwaan Breeding B.V., The Netherlands


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

19 July 2017


It was one of the best introductory course I have had on the subject. The trainers go in to details of each and every nitty gritty of various topics. Also the exercises are designed very professionally and with clear learning objectives in mind. Finally, I learnt a lot many things during the discussions that are entertained very well by the trainers during the entire course.


no_picture   Haidi Arbanasic, University of Zagreb, Faculty of Science


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

7 July 2017


Workshop is very useful for people without experience in bioinformatics to get basic understanding of NGS data analysis, and for those with some experience to improve their knowledge. Trainers are excellent.


no_picture   Zandra Fagernas, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

5 July 2017


After this workshop, I feel much more confident of my own bioinformatics skills. I can now dive into more specialized areas of bioinformatics, as I have a good basic knowledge of how everything works.


no_picture   Frederik Börnke, Leibniz-Institute of Vegetable and Ornamental Crops


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

5 July 2017


Being a novice to NGS data analysis this workshop was eye opening and made me confident in starting my own analyses.


no_picture   Maria Ines Alvelos, ULB Center for Diabetes Research


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

12 May 2017


The course was very informative and well organized. Everything was clearly explained and very helpful for beginners!


no_picture   Morgan Benowitz-Fredericks, Bucknell University


RNA-Seq Workshop 2017

29 March 2017


I was particularly impressed with the emphasis on teaching us how to THINK about our analyses, rather than just follow a series of commands. Your focus on anticipating potential sources of error, never blindly trusting that a command or piece of software has done what you think it's done without confirming (as well as teaching us ways to confirm) left us with a skill set that is independent of a particular pipeline, and will serve us well as our interests (and the available software) change. The active exercises were clearly designed extraordinarily carefully and were really effective not just in applying what we'd just learned, but in seeing how you might fall into an analysis/interpretation trap if you are not careful. This really was a mindset/philosophy of analysis training as much as it was practical training, and I value that enormously. Thank you!


no_picture   Dorota Magner, Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry Polish Academy of Sciences


RNA-Seq Workshop 2017

29 March 2017


The course was designed for people starting their work with RNA-Seq and was very well prepared and led. The information is provided in a clear and accessible manner and, most importantly, from a practical point of view. The trainers have extensive experience and provide valuable insights into the real problems arising from data analysis. I am happy to have had opportunity to attend these workshops. The knowledge and skills acquired during the workshops will be of great help in planning my own experiments and will enable me to start analyze the data on my own. I definately recommend these workshops to anyone planning RNA-seq experiments.


no_picture   Christian Bach, University Hospital Erlangen


RNA-Seq Workshop 2017

29 March 2017


The workshop was really informative and conveyed a realistic overview of current RNA-Seq analysis. I particularly liked the emphasis on taking into account the experimental conditions and the goal of the study.


no_picture   Sabine Urban, Universität Konstanz


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2017

8 March 2017


The workshop was well suited for beginners like me and was very relevant for my work. I think that what I learned will really help me to speed up analyses in the future.


no_picture   iker hernandez, Futureco BIoscience


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2016

13 December 2016


A nice start point.


no_picture   Jonathan Landry, EMBL


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2016

2 December 2016


Very good week of course, very useful for future\ work on DNA methylation sequencing analysis.


no_picture   Marc Lamarine, Quartz Bio


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2016

1 December 2016


ecSeq team pays a great attention to equip you to be on your own once back alone in your lab. They are recognised experts of the field and share not only their expertise but also their experience and views. Very valuable.


no_picture   Alexandra McCorkindale, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

7 October 2016


As someone who was previously terrified of the command line, this was a terrific course to build confidence in navigating the terminal. Moreover, I walked away with a much deeper understanding of sequencing chemistry and the relative merits of different software packages for analysing different types of sequencing data. I highly recommend this course for any wet lab biologist whether at the student, postdoc, or PI level!


no_picture   Yacine Amar, Technische Universität München / Klinikum für Dermatologie und Allergologie


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

6 October 2016


The organisation of the Summer School was excellent.


no_picture   Lisa Kutsche, Center for Regenerative Therapies Dresden


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

12 September 2016


There are too many things to consider when using NGS technology. I really needed a course like this to get started with a proper analysis of my own data.


no_picture   Tamas Varga, University of Debrecen


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

12 September 2016


This was a very intensive course, which gave tremendous help to anyone trying to work with NGS data. Difficult concepts were very effectively simplified and explained. Should be a great help in anyone interested in NGS.


no_picture   Harris Onywera, Center for Genomic Regulation, Spain


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2016

6 July 2016


The ecSeq workshop on "Next-Generation Sequencing Data Analysis" was very informative. I have no doubt that I acquired new skills, thus, extended my knowledge of analyzing the big data. I am integrating most of these in my current research analyses. Thank you ecSeq Bioinformatics Team!


no_picture   Trevor Burt, ZFMK (Koenig Museum), Bonn, Germany


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2016

6 July 2016


This ECSEQ course provided a very good 3- day intensive workshop on NGS, Analysis, and BASH to give anyone working with genetic material a good foundation to expand their research project in a number of cutting edge directions. The instructors are warm and knowledgeable and eager to help anyone sincerely interested in learning these techniques.


no_picture   Oscar Alejandro Pérez Escobar, Ludwig Maximilians Universität


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

20 March 2016


A Beginner's Guide to RNA-Seq Data Analysis is an excellent workshop which provided me with the basic knowledge to start exploring RNA sequence data analysis and allowed me to address new questions. It includes an important component on very practical exercises, and the hands off material as well as the TI's and speakers are top quality. I highly recommend this workshop!


no_picture   Kartik Sunagar, Hebrew University


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

15 Febuary 2016


It was an excellent workshop. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was very informative and the tutors were extremely helpful.


no_picture   Alexander Nolze, Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany


RNA-Seq Workshop 2016

8 Febuary 2016


Since just having a little experience in analyzing RNA-Seq data, my knowledge about the unix environment, mapping tools and downstream analyses improved a lot during the workshop. With the help of the provided workshop materials it was quite easy to follow the excellent speakers. Several exercises supported the learning process as well.


no_picture   Kieran Meade, Teagasc, Ireland


Bisulfite-Seq Workshop 2015

22 December 2015


To go from an introduction to methylation to the complete analysis of a published dataset in 3 days is an ambitious target and I am delighted that is was so comprehensively achieved. The mix between theory and practical work is very balanced. I highly recommend this course for a strong foundation in the latest methylation analysis methods. The course leaders are experts and so helpful, and to take the operating system, data and commands home at the end of the conference is a huge benefit.


no_picture   Susana Gonzalez Fernandez-Nino, Bayer Crop Science


Summer School 2015


Good resume of the last technologies and applications. Definitly will improve the comunication with our bioinformatics colleagues for perfom the proper analysis and understanding of the data. Thanks for an intensive but nice course.


no_picture   Jakub Mrazek, Institute of Animal Physiology and Genetics, Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague


Summer School 2015


Excellently prepared and performed workshop (from both organizing teams). A lot of information provided.


no_picture   Young Tae Kim, Seoul National University Hospital


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2015


The ECSEQ RNA analysis course is one of the best courses. All the trainers were awesome. Many thanks to all of you.


no_picture   Michaela Müller-McNicoll, Goethe-University Frankfurt


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2015


Very good course, perfect for my needs.


no_picture   Markus Eszlinger, University of Leipzig


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2015


Thanks a lot for a very interesting course that significantly improved my knowledge on NGS data analysis.


no_picture   Tobias Schmid, Goethe-University Frankfurt, Germany


Introduction to NGS Workshop 2015


The workshop provided a great introduction into the analysis of NGS data for me as a wet lab biologist. The one day introduction into Linux was an absolute asset. Thanks to the course, I now feel comfortable both to discuss my NGS analysis needs with a bioinformatician more competently, but also to take first steps in NGS analyses myself.


no_picture   Paul Essers, Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing


RNA-Seq Workshop 2014


As a wet lab biologist, I have been dabbling in analysing my RNA-seq data myself. This course gave me a lot of context about mapping and differential expression software that I hadn't been able to grasp on my own. This knowledge will certainly improve the quality of my analyses. Additionally, I learned a lot of handy Linux commands and tricks that make my life a lot easier.


no_picture   Danny Misiak, Institut of Molecular Medicine, MLU Halle-Wittenberg


RNA-Seq Workshop 2014


Very good course, thanks for that.


no_picture   Maximilian Radtke, MFPL, University of Vienna


RNA-Seq Workshop 2014


Very efficient training in the basics of dealing with one of the most quickly evolving technologies we have.


About our NGS courses

Several times a year, we organize introductory and advanced courses on selected topics in next-generation sequencing data analysis. They take place in cities across Europe and draw international participants.